Throwback Thursday

Image

This was a photo I took in the Summer of 2012, in the Highlands of Scotland.

It was at the Glenfinnan monument and Visitor Centre.  Many people just looked at the monument and went into the centre that is located across the road.  But if you venture a little further down the beaten track (which I think should be a rule in life) you will come out to this lovely stretch of water.

It was so quiet, so serene, so peaceful.  If I didn’t live in London I think I would still really appreciate the beauty and peace of the highlands but I think it’s that added extra when you live in a city that never sleeps.

I find the Highlands of Scotland really humbling, but in a positive way.  You can see and feel the power of nature, and just being around so much open space, clean air and lovely water falls.  The only drawback being the bitey things with wings, but many a shop sells spray to deal with such bites.  Or go on holiday with me as I seem to be the one in the group to always attract them for I am lucky like that.

Over the years I have noticed that I really need to get out of the city every now and then to slow myself back down again and get some calm restored.  To surround myself with nature and people that talk to each other (Londoners, don’t deny this you know what I mean haha).  I also notice I have an urge to be near water often and really miss the ocean when I have not been there for a while.

Which is exactly what I plan to do over the next few days – I am retreating to the woods and the ocean to get a little R&R.  So this is me signing off for the weekend – have yourselves a lovely one, and if you are stuck from something to do on Friday – get away to the Ocean.

 And just for your amusement – this is another shot I took of the same area whilst balancing on a rock – yeah it tipped me up!

Image

Leave a Reply

